Poems That Live As People: CD
  • Poems That Live As People: CD

Poems That Live As People: CD

In cart Not available Out of stock

Recipe for The Winterlings’ New Album, Poems That Live As People

1 suicide of a teenage son
1 harmonium, 1 banjo & a handful of synth bombs 1 bacon-loving housefly
1 Oliver typewriter, Circa 1912 2 new lungs for a dying fan
3 shows playing Nirvana songs at Seattle‘s EMP Museum
Octopus population explosion
The hubris and cruelty of the human species

Place 2 Winterlings (Wolff Bowden & Amanda Birdsall) in a rain-battered house just north of Seattle. Mix in electric guitar, violin, harmonium, banjitar, piano, drums, tambourine and a dash of typewriter. When Winterlings learn of a friend’s son’s suicide, add a housefly to distract from despair, followed by a fan with Cystic Fibrosis receiving new lungs. Sift in the demoralizing spice of music streaming until batter tastes of poverty. Add 2 weeks of studying Nirvana songs to play 3 shows at Seattle’s Experience Music Project Museum, mashing Winterlings’ creative sensibilities with Kurt Cobain’s. Sprinkle in 40 inches of rain and the death of Winterlings’ Seattle bass player’s wife. Refrigerate for 3 months until Philadelphia’s Michele Lynn steps in to play bass on 9 songs, including one about her son’s suicide. Separate dough into 10 islands of magic and melancholy. Bake for 10 days while Winterlings tour Oregon and California during the forecasted “Storm of the Century.” Cool until November 12, 2016 and enjoy with album release show at Seattle’s Ballard Homestead. These are not your ordinary cookies. These are “Poems That Live As People.”

Read more… close